Oklahoma Conference of the United Methodist Church

Oklahoma delegation prepping for 2012 conferences


The 44-member Oklahoma Conference delegation has organized for its work leading up to the 2012 General/Jurisdictional Conferences of our denomination.

The members began making plans immediately after the elections concluded, about 9:15 p.m. May 30, at the Annual Conference in Oklahoma City.

For the first time in history, the delegation will be led by two women: Judy Benson and Linda Harker, the first-elected layperson and clergyperson, respectively.

In a message to delegation members, Benson wrote, "Your peers have confidence in your gifts and abilities to further God’s kingdom through the opportunities given you on their behalf. We think that God has put together an outstanding group of committed people to be the delegation."

The 18 General Conference delegates also now have their legislative committee assignments. During that conference, 13 such committees process petitions.

Oklahoma’s delegates have chosen as follows: Harker, Superintendency; Benson and Tom Harrison, General Administration; Bakeman and Frank Denney, Ministry & Higher Education; Jessica Seay and John Hiller, Faith & Order; Frankye Johnson and Herschel Beard, Discipleship; Guy Ames and Don Kim, Conferences; Aly Shahan, Local Church; Bob Long, Financial Administration; Joe Harris, Independent Commissions; Maggie Ball, Global Ministries; Briana Tobey, Church & Society 2; Bill Junk, Church & Society 1; and Bob Anthony, Judicial Administration.

The delegation plans to meet Aug. 20.


(Correction: The name of General Conference lay delegate Aly Shahan was missing from a photo caption in the June 17 issue.)


Making Disciples of Jesus Christ for the Transformation of the World

Contact Us

1501 N.W. 24th St.
Oklahoma City, OK 73106-3635
Phone: 405-530-2000

Sign Up For the Contact

Connect With Us